October 2020 | Wrap-Up

I don’t even understand my reading schedule anymore. I read ten books this month?! I’m confused too. Especially given that I took a quick two-week, no books, no social media, no distractions hiatus to quickly bang out a fellowship application. Part of that increase is probably due to all the audiobook’s I’ve banged out, but still! Ten books??


Books Read:

Magic Bites by Illona Andrews – 3/5

  • Picked this up after discord recs (multiple people) and…eh it was alright. Interesting enough worldbuilding to be worth continuing, but overall story was repetitive with weak writing. Also very very very straight

To Hold Up the Sky by Liu Cixin – 4/5

  • LCX’s new short story collection and it’s for sure got some of my favorite short stories of all times. Very grounded and human for a scifi short story collection, and very very science-y

The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune – 5/5

  • SO CUTE. OH MY GOD SO CUTE. EVERYONE NEEDS TO READ THIS ONE. Not a book we deserve in 2020 but a book we got anyways.

A Curse of Roses by Diana Pinguicha – 4.5/.5

  • Was surprised by how much I enjoyed this. I’m unfamiliar with Portuguese legends, but I enjoyed the small scale and low stakes. Also a lovely sapphic relationship. The Christianity focus was uncomfortable, but that’s a me problem

The Wicker King by K Ancrum – 5/5

  • A fascinating depiction of watching a loved one’s descent to madness. The microfiction threw me off at first, but it works for this story,. One of the best books I read in 2020. Also the author’s note made me cry.

The Legend of the Golden Raven by K Ancrum – 5/5

  • Novella accompaniment for The Wicker King. I picked this up for an in-depth exploration of Jack and August’s fantasy world. I stayed for Jack’s POV and damn I want more.

Magic Burns by Illona Andrews – 3./5

  • Definite improvement over book one, but overall still fairly mediocre. Worldbuilding still shows promise. Audiobook at 2.3x makes for a good distraction at work. Still very straight

Magic Strikes by Illona Andrews – 3.5/5

  • TOURNAMENT ARRRRRRRC. These are starting to get good. Kate really needs to get laid, and maybe back off on some of the stereotypical Orientalism depictions, but I’m actually starting to like these now.

When the Tiger Came Down the Mountain by Nghi Vo – 4/5

  • SAPPHIC POETRY READING TO SHAPESHIFTING TIGERS. Loved the authors first book, was not disappointed here. I just wish this was longer.

Magic Bleeds by Illona Andrews – 3.5/5

  • Kate finally got laid! The stakes are getting higher and higher with each book and the writing is getting pretty solid. Narrator was a… little passionate with the sex scenes. Slightly uncomfy at work.

Books in Progress:

Hollow Empire by Sam Hawke

  • Loved book one! I’m about 5 pages into book 2, and thankfully there’s a kind-of recap so I’m not totally lost.

Reviews Written:

Reviews written for books read this month found above


Other Posts

Blog Chat with RF Kuang

Leave a comment